Home » Directory

Each statue along the Trail of Governors will cost $72,000 to design, sculpt and erect. To help fund this exciting project, major sponsorships are being offered for those funding:

One-quarter Statue


Three-quarter Statue


One-half Statue


One-full Statue


The sponsors can fund the pledges over multiple years before the statue is completed.

These special sponsors will be recognized on a plaque, permanently affixed to the statue. The plaques will have four lines of 50 characters and sponsors will receive one line for each quarter of the statue. For instance, individuals who sponsor one-quarter statue will receive one line of text. Those sponsoring an entire statue will receive four lines of text. Corporate logos will not be placed on the sculptures.

Download a Trail of Governors sponsorship form – Trail of Governors Sponsorship Form.

Funds for the Trail of Governors Foundation will be placed in an account with the South Dakota Community Foundation. All donations are tax-deductible and sponsors will be invited to special unveiling ceremonies in Pierre!

Donations of any amount are welcome and are recorded on the donor page along with the Governor donated to.

The following is a list of our special sponsors to date:

The funded pledges are shown in GREEN


22nd Gov. Archie Gubbrud (1961-1965)

22nd Gov. Archie Gubbrud (1961-1965)

Lance and Julie Burma in memory of Walter D. Miller – $17,000 Gary and Connie Grittner – $17,000 Leroy Foster and April Smart  – $18,000 Leroy Foster in Memory of Elsie Shelbourn – $18,000

read more
20th Gov. Joe Foss (1955-1959)

20th Gov. Joe Foss (1955-1959)

Farm Credit Services of America – $17,000 Dr. Frank and Pamela Foss, Mary Joe Foss Finke – $17,000 Chuck and Bonny Schroyer – $18,000 Friends and Family – $17,000

read more
18th Gov. George T. Mickelson (1947-1951)

18th Gov. George T. Mickelson (1947-1951)

Thomas and Patricia Adam – $17,000 G Mark and Cynthia Mickelson – $17,000 Karlton C. and Joan Adam Family/ Dakota State Bank – 1/6 Sponsorship Joseph and Kathryn Carmody – 1/6 Sponsorship Thomas and Kristin Reaves and Family – 1/6 Sponsorship

read more
16th Gov. Harlan Bushfield (1939-1943)

16th Gov. Harlan Bushfield (1939-1943)

Harlan Bushfield Family – $17,000 American Bank & Trust, Miller SD – $17,000 Leroy & Charlene Foster – $17,000 Trail of Governors Board Members Rick Jensen – $2500 Patricia Van Gerpen – $2500 Tina Van Camp – $2500 Patricia Adam – $2500 Leroy Foster – $2500...

read more
3rd Gov. Andrew Lee (1897-1901)

3rd Gov. Andrew Lee (1897-1901)

Jay and Elizabeth Vogt – $18,000 Scott and Julia Jones – $18,000 The Gunderson Family – $18,000 South Dakota Retailers Association, Honoring Donna Leslie - $18,000

read more

Donate Today!

Preferred method mail to:
Trail of Governors
2310 Patron Parkway
PO Box 296
Pierre SD 57501

Click here to Donate Online!

Donations of any amount are welcome and will be posted on the Donors page.

Donated to Date:


updated 3/23/2022

Endowment Balance:


updated 4/3/2020

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This